First Impressions

It’s Day 2 and although I spent most of yesterday in bed, suffering from jet lag (don’t be fooled, it hit me today too), I’ve been out enough to develop my first impressions of Manila and what people have told me of the barangays (neighborhoods or villages) around it – so, I guess that is a secondary impression? Anyway, here is what I’ve noticed:

Accommodations:

My apartment is small to say the least, about twice the size of my bedroom back home. I have a pretty large-sized bedroom in the States but certainly not a mega-master suite. Let’s just say that when shared with a few roommates, it is TIGHT. I say a few roommates because one, an intern at the office, has been the tenant of this apartment for the last year. She is leaving in a couple of weeks to help open another field office about an hour from here. She’s great. I feel very welcomed and she’s teaching me a lot about everyday life in Manila. When she leaves, the apartment will be mine, which means I can stop living out of a suitcase — very awesome. The other roommates are our not-so-welcomed roaches. Yes, I said it! Although I haven’t seen any since I’ve been here, my roommates’s decision to store our dishes in the refrigerator tells me that they aren’t promised to stay away. So, like I said, my roommate is leaving soon but the roaches (although not welcomed) I fear are here to stay. But it’s all part of the package I guess.

The City That Never Sleeps:

Folks at home, you thought you knew about the city that never sleeps, but that’s probably because you have not yet been to Manila. Living right in Metro Manila means car horns for 24 hours of the day and bumper-to-bumper traffic even at 1 in the morning. I actually don’t mind it. In fact, I kind of like it. I’ve always wanted to live in the city, I just never knew that the first time I’d do it would be halfway around the world!

I’ve also never seen a city so well equipped with as many forms of public transportation as this one! Not only do you have taxis, but jeeps (a vehicle that looks almost like one used for transporting sheep back home, except people are in it), buses (two kinds), an above-ground subway, and I’m forgetting some but I’m new, so bear with me.

And then there is the smell. I guess I should pluralize that. The heat brings not only horrific scents out of people, but restaurants and sewers as well — and they all mingle in the air to make a perfect combination of gag-reflex perfume. I may get used to it, but I can’t see it anytime soon.

Rain. Okay, so I knew coming to the Philippines that it was going to rain a lot, but I was not informed until I got here (while running in the rain) that it is recommended to get as little of it on me as possible. The rain water is polluted from the air, which is, like, super gross! I shrugged it off until the rain cleared up and my feet were sticky from polluted, dried rainwater. Needless to say, I showered immediately after I got home.

One last thing I have observed about living in Manila is people’s lack of concern for getting hit by a car. So far I’ve learned that successful driving in Manila depends on the loudness of the car horn and how quickly one can jut out into the intersection, which basically determines one’s right-of-way. First come, first served…or survival of the fittest, one or the other. As a result, it is hard for pedestrians to cross the street. To address this, they just start walking and fearlessly depend on the oncoming cars seeing them and stopping. I haven’t had any accidents yet. I’m not sure if drivers here just pay extra attention to the road or if I’m playing a hand with my luck.


Grocery Shopping 101:

I’ve lived on my own on two occasions, both for a year at a time. I thought I learned pretty well how to grocery-shop for myself. I mastered the bargain-search and developed a system for buying what I knew I’d eat, so as to not waste my money on stuff that would easily go bad in a short time. So when I entered the grocery store in Manila, I had no idea I’d leave so overwhelmed! A few things to note:

  •  Most everything that is in a box or glass at home is most likely in a bag here. That includes spaghetti sauce, some “canned” fruit, and etc.
  • If anything was once in a carton or plastic container, it’s most likely in a box in Manila. i.e. milk.
  • Shampoo and conditioner are not shelved together (I learned this the hard way when I almost bought two shampoos).
  • Don’t buy the yogurt. That section literally smelled like something died behind it.
  • There is (hardly) no such thing as bagged produce. I looked for a good 15 minutes for baby carrots in a bag – silly me.
  • Rice is EVERYWHERE.
  • If you need bath towels, they’re in Aisle 1, right next to the glassware and sandals?

I went there mainly for broccoli, which I left without. In fact, I left with a random assortment of foods, mainly because I was way too overwhelmed by the experience and needed some time to reflect, plan, and return on another day.

Weather:

It’s HOT. Think about the hottest you’ve ever been, multiply that feeling by two and add  80% humidity. That is how I felt yesterday in the apartment. For once, I don’t think I’ll mind a lack of hot water in the shower…even though our shower actually has it’s very own hot water heater inside, something I wish I could take back with me to the States!

Food:

Maybe this will explain it:

Actually, food here is delicious. The only problem is that service is never really great. No one ever really eats together. Your food arrives pretty much after it’s done cooking, and no one’s is ever done at the same time. Yesterday (my first meal here) my food came out after the other interns had finished theirs…and it was totally normal for the restaurant. Not to us, though. The Legal Fellow followed up with staff and requested my meal be taken off the bill. Twice. After all, we fight against injustice. That’s what we do here:)

By the way, food is way cheaper here…a plus!

Finally, the scenery is beautiful. I can see mountains and water from my balcony and I have heard enough about seeing the sites that I probably could plan half of my weekend trips already! I’m having a hard time with missing home. I’m learning and liking it but it’s still hard to adjust. Please pray that God would give me peace about my life here and that He would give me purpose for every day.

Salamat!

12 responses to “First Impressions

  1. Hi Baby,
    It was so good seeing your face and hearing your voice all at the same time. I can’t wait for another chat. I don’t know what I would do if we didn’t have such ‘techy stuff’ to keep us connected. Get some rest, you will need it for all the wonderful things you will be doing in your adventure. I love you sweety. Sleep on I Love You! XOXOXOX and more!

  2. Goodmorning Annie,
    Well sounds like you are adjusting quite well, i remember my experiences in India, at your age, so i can identify with a lot you have mentioned, i loved it when i would get ready to go to bed and open the door only to find a bizillion crickets on the floor chewing on my scarves, which i had to keep in a cedar cabinet, and the servants would just smile as they swept the little critters out the door, you get use to it, you will adjust, just look at it as a great experience and write things down, keep a journal, you will love to look back on it later in life. God Bless you !! and stay well !!
    Hugs,
    Suzy Brumm

  3. Dave and Leslie Gregory

    Annie-
    It sounds like an adventure already. You are definitely delving right into this cultural immersion (and some accompanying culture shock would seem understandable). Your knowledge of cultural competency will help you cope with that though. I think it is wonderful that you have a roommate for now so you can learn some things from her before she leaves (maybe see if she will go with you to the grocery store!(-:)
    Dave and I have been praying for you and love that God is taking you on a journey of a lifetime for His Glory.
    Blessings,
    Leslie
    Stay cool…

  4. LOL! You could be having pigeon like in Egypt! And at least there IS a supermarket, I mean in a building, and not on a street. Jeepneys used to be my main source of transportation, cuz, as you’ve found, it’s too hot to walk without melting. Keep safe, watch out for traffic, and don’t eat any cockroaches by mistake. Although that might be a delicacy, who knows? Have you had fried bananas yet? VERY yummy! The finger bananas they have there are much, much better than the starchy cardboard ones we get here. Praying for you. God is going to use you greatly.
    Love, Martha (and Tom)

  5. I love your descriptions! And the pics are great 🙂 did you eat that thing?! What was it?!

  6. Just read your blog! What an adventure you are having so far. By the way, that fish looked like piranha tempura! Yummy! Sounds like you are adjusting to life over there pretty well. Send some photos of your digs. I’m trying to picture it all in my head. I’m sure it’s better than it sounds! You will make the best of it all. I know you. Good luck with everything. Can’t wait to read what you write today! By the way, your mom is doing great!!

    Love ya, Norie

  7. So good to hear from you and update on your experiences! Wow lots of adjustments. Hope you are finding comfort in the devotional “Jesus Calling” Did you bring any Raid? How is the work part going? Have you had the chance to work with any clients? We are praying for you.

  8. Got your email today. It’s so awesome what you’re doing and you are constantly in my prayers. I can only imagine the great things our great God has planned for you.
    I hope your “roommates” go away soon. I don’t envy you having to put up with all that humidity. I think I’d be braiding my hair or ponytailing it the entire time.

  9. Annie –
    It sounds as though you are adjusting quite well! Maybe our travels to Egypt and Israel prepared you …. (especially the food part!). We think of you often and will pray for you daily in your mission in the Philippines. God guided you there for a reason!! Take care – be safe ….
    Blessings –
    Anne-Marie

  10. Be sure to find a small place of peace each day for yourself – we’re thinking of and praying for you. Patrick and Grace

  11. Christine Jeminey

    The shoemaker had his little elves that come out at night to do good deeds. Prhaps with a little training those critters of yours can be put to good use? “Row . . . row . . . row . . .”

    Have that little slip of paper with your blog info hanging at my desk as reminder to lift you in prayer daily. May God bless you, and may He go before you, walk beside you and watch your back every day of your life. 🙂

Leave a comment